Results

Ronald Rodriguez mail: gmail@thedarkswans.com | web: ronald.thedarkswans.com | when: Tue, 28 Feb 2017 14:46:02 +0000
Self-Righteous Devils: The Ozark Vigilantes Of The 1880s
The story of the Bald Knobbers' rise is a terrifying parable about what happens when government fails and violence reigns. It's a lesson that’s perhaps more relevant in the political climate of 2017 than Americans would like it to be.
Nynke Van der louw mail: nvdlouw@yahoo.com | web: http://greatestcamps.nl/ | when: Tue, 28 Feb 2017 15:45:48 +0000
Review Roundup: Is 'Logan' Any Good?
Hugh Jackman and Patrick Stewart say it's their last "X-Men" movie. Wolverine is busted-up, drunk, and tired. "Logan" is flexing its gritty take and R-rating as if to say to other comic book movies: "Come at me, bub."
Kenneth Richardson mail: kenneth.richardson@innovation-km.com | web: kenneth.innovation-km.com | when: Tue, 28 Feb 2017 15:45:48 +0000
Inside NASA’s Space Farming Labs
If astronauts are going to make it on long duration space missions, they’re going to need some veggies.
Gregory Morales mail: gregory.morales@klarkzon.eu | web: gregory.klarkzon.eu | when: Mon, 27 Feb 2017 16:52:15 +0000
This App Just Made Networking Not Suck (And No, It's Not Tinder)
What Tinder did for dating, this company is doing for networking. Shapr connects you with all the inspiring people you live near but would never meet. The result? More inspired, meaningful and connected collaboration.
Arthur Martin mail: google@hockeymail.de | web: arthur.hockeymail.de | when: Tue, 28 Feb 2017 00:59:22 +0000
Going For A Swim With Some Scallops
Against all odds, scallops are basically the butterflies of the ocean.
Jerry Fisher mail: jerry.fisher@thedarkswans.com | web: jerry.thedarkswans.com | when: Tue, 28 Feb 2017 14:03:47 +0000
Female Engineer Sues Tesla, Describing A Culture Of 'Pervasive Harassment'
The allegations of AJ Vandermeyden, who still works at the celebrated electric car manufacturer, paint a picture of a hostile work environment dominated by men where inappropriate sexual behavior is tolerated and women face numerous barriers to advance their careers.
Dennis Watson mail: yahoo@dwindlingscrabble.xyz | web: dennis.dwindlingscrabble.xyz | when: Tue, 28 Feb 2017 12:55:09 +0000
The Difference Between Apple And Google, Illustrated By Their Patent Structures
Apple is driven largely by a centralized development structure, stemming from its fabled design studio, whereas Google has a more distributed, open-source approach to new products.
Alan Richardson mail: alan.richardson@klarkzon.eu | web: alan.klarkzon.eu | when: Tue, 28 Feb 2017 13:43:53 +0000
'All Bark And No Bite,' Illustrated To Perfection By Dogs
Don't open that gate — those dogs will tear each other apart! Oh, no, they're fine actually. Couldn't be bothered.
Brandon Powell mail: brandon.powell@innovation-km.com | web: brandon.innovation-km.com | when: Tue, 28 Feb 2017 13:43:53 +0000
Does Stephen Miller Speak For Trump? Or Vice Versa?
The 31-year-old is a driving force behind the White House’s policies.
Douglas Powell mail: yahoo@pulpfrictions.com | web: douglas.pulpfrictions.com | when: Tue, 28 Feb 2017 12:43:35 +0000
How A Homeless Man Prevented Thousands Of HIV Infections
In the space of 12 months, the number of gay men in London being diagnosed with HIV dropped by 40%. Across England it was down by a third. And in large part, Greg Owen was to thank.
Billy Turner mail: billy.turner@onlyforyounotfor.me | web: billy.onlyforyounotfor.me | when: Tue, 28 Feb 2017 14:33:30 +0000
John Oliver And Trevor Noah Talk About The Difficulty And Importance Of Imbuing Their Shows With Nuance
And by that, we mean that Oliver totally raked Noah over the coals before disemboweling him until there was eventually nothing left.
Earl Perez mail: earl.perez@daftest.website | web: earl.daftest.website | when: Tue, 28 Feb 2017 15:45:49 +0000
How Did Moonlight Win Best Picture?
After going up against "La La Land," which tied the all-time record for Oscar nominations with 14, how did the critically acclaimed "Moonlight" pull off that big win?
Ronald Patterson mail: google@pulpfrictions.com | web: ronald.pulpfrictions.com | when: Tue, 28 Feb 2017 12:55:09 +0000
Apple Reportedly Considering Swapping iPhone 8's Lightning Connector For USB-C
It would be an unusual move for Apple, which has never been afraid of pushing its own connection standards, but not completely inexplicable. The company has already adopted USB-C on its MacBook line, and the two standards share some key features, including reversibility.
Antonio West mail: antonio.west@klarkzon.eu | web: antonio.klarkzon.eu | when: Mon, 27 Feb 2017 23:39:06 +0000
Sea Lions Are Disconcertingly Good At Volleyball
You know how sea lions are often pictured balancing balls on their snouts? Well, their ability with their snouts goes far, far beyond balancing a stationary ball.
Billy Richardson mail: billy.richardson@onlyforyounotfor.me | web: billy.onlyforyounotfor.me | when: Tue, 28 Feb 2017 14:46:02 +0000
Our Oceans Are Garbage
Earth's oceans are filthy, and it's getting worse. Scientists predict there could be more plastic than fish in the ocean by 2050.
Henk Jongmans mail: jongmansh@gmail.com | web: https://plus.google.com/u/0/102961349602300242299/ | when: Tue, 28 Feb 2017 14:46:02 +0000
A Medicine That Blunts The Buzz Of Alcohol Can Help Drinkers Cut Back
A medicine long used to help people addicted to opioids quit their drug habit can help alcoholics and other heavy drinkers cut back, too.
Edward Phillips mail: gmail@geheime.club | web: edward.geheime.club | when: Mon, 27 Feb 2017 19:11:12 +0000
Workout Gear So Good You’ll Actually Want To Work Out
Odor-blocking shirts, ingenious core trainers and more of our favorite workout gear to help you look fly and feel fit.
Peter Evans mail: peter.evans@pulpfrictions.com | web: peter.pulpfrictions.com | when: Tue, 28 Feb 2017 13:43:52 +0000
Shell Oil Made A Film About The Dangers Of Climate Change In 1991 — And Then Hid It
Despite its clear-eyed view of climate change's risks in the 1991 film, the oil giant has lobbied against strong climate climate legislation for decades. Dutch magazine The Correspondent unearthed the film and is making it public again.
Shawn Gonzalez mail: shawn.gonzalez@horse-d.eu | web: shawn.horse-d.eu | when: Tue, 28 Feb 2017 12:43:35 +0000
The Physicist Who Denies That Dark Matter Exists
Maybe Newtonian physics doesn't need dark matter to work, but Mordehai Milgrom instead.
Peter Powell mail: peter.powell@affablyhomonym.com | web: peter.affablyhomonym.com | when: Tue, 28 Feb 2017 13:51:48 +0000
What’s Normal? What’s Important? Rating 20 Big Events Of The Trump Presidency So Far
Nominating Neil Gorsuch to the Supreme Court? Important, and normal. Appointing Steve Bannon to the NSC? Also important, but not normal. The New York Times breaks down the flashpoints from the Trump administration's first month.
Nicholas Gonzales mail: nicholas.gonzales@dwindlingscrabble.xyz | web: nicholas.dwindlingscrabble.xyz | when: Mon, 27 Feb 2017 22:34:40 +0000
Boston Dynamics' Crazy New Robot Can Jump Over Obstacles, Which Means There's Nowhere Left To Hide
The robot, called Handle, can also pick up heavy loads in its "hands," roll down stairs, jump on tables, and generally do a bunch of stuff that will make it easier to track us down and eliminate us one by one.
Kenneth Butler mail: kenneth.butler@affablyhomonym.com | web: kenneth.affablyhomonym.com | when: Tue, 28 Feb 2017 13:43:53 +0000
How My Public Records Request Triggered The Self-Driving Car Lawsuit Against Uber
Waymo found "the final piece of the puzzle" for its claim against Uber in documents I procured last year.
Jerry Ramos mail: jerry.ramos@geheime.club | web: jerry.geheime.club | when: Tue, 28 Feb 2017 11:33:04 +0000
How Should We Judge A Defendant With A Brain Tumor?
In the Texas tower shooter's autopsy in 1966, a small tumor was found in his brain — and it might have been at least partially responsible for his rampage. As our understanding of neuroscience progresses, will our understanding of criminal justice change with it?
Clarence Owens mail: clarence.owens@onlyforyounotfor.me | web: clarence.onlyforyounotfor.me | when: Sun, 26 Feb 2017 17:31:58 +0000
One Dude Handles The Drums, Guitar And Vocals For Led Zepplin's 'Black Dog' *At The Same Damn Time*
Nope, no fancy pedal work here. This guy is just the God of musical multi-tasking.
Dennis Crawford mail: dennis.crawford@thedarkswans.com | web: dennis.thedarkswans.com | when: Tue, 28 Feb 2017 00:16:47 +0000
Hundreds Allege Sexual Harassment At Kay And Jared Jewelry Company
Routine sexual "preying" at company events "was done out in the open and appeared to be encouraged, or at least condoned, by the company," one former store manager said.
Arthur Ramos mail: arthur.ramos@horse-d.eu | web: arthur.horse-d.eu | when: Wed, 11 Jan 2017 12:35:33 +0000
Get 90% Off This VPN Lifetime Subscription
This Fast, Fully-Encrypted VPN ensures your cyber security and lets you bypass geo-restrictions that block your favorite streaming services.
Nicholas Ramos mail: nicholas.ramos@hockeymail.de | web: nicholas.hockeymail.de | when: Tue, 28 Feb 2017 04:15:05 +0000
How Eating Dirt Became High Cuisine
The lengths gastronomes go to in search of real hunger.
Alfred Watson mail: alfred.watson@thedarkswans.com | web: alfred.thedarkswans.com | when: Tue, 28 Feb 2017 10:30:05 +0000
When Getting Back To Nature Becomes A Movement
After hitchhiking as a teen, photographer Antoine Bruy discovered a radical community living off-the-grid: a wave of people leaving the rat race behind.
Arthur Nelson mail: google@thedarkswans.com | web: arthur.thedarkswans.com | when: Mon, 27 Feb 2017 17:23:50 +0000
Play Around With Some Simple Self-Taught, Self-Driving Cars In Your Web Browser
Maybe you think it's inevitable that we'll have self-driving cars soon — that they'll be safer, and capable of sharing the road with humans. Actually designing that AI can be tough, as this little 2D demonstration shows.
Bruce Parker mail: bruce.parker@affablyhomonym.com | web: bruce.affablyhomonym.com | when: Mon, 27 Feb 2017 23:12:52 +0000
What Is A Time Crystal, Exactly?
Physicists have made a new phase of matter called a time crystal — but what does that even mean?
Anthony Parker mail: anthony.parker@hockeymail.de | web: anthony.hockeymail.de | when: Mon, 27 Feb 2017 21:38:16 +0000
SpaceX Plans To Send Two (Very Rich) People Around The Moon
Two private citizens approached the company, and are reportedly “very serious” about the trip.
Dennis Lee mail: dennis.lee@hockeymail.de | web: dennis.hockeymail.de | when: Tue, 28 Feb 2017 02:25:42 +0000
What You Need To Know About The Right-Wing Movement Consuming Europe
Populism has been alive and well across Europe for years now, but the European migrant crisis has injected a new strain of nationalism into the movement.
Jacob Harrison mail: jacob.harrison@geheime.club | web: jacob.geheime.club | when: Tue, 28 Feb 2017 00:16:47 +0000
The Tale Of The Tommy Gun
Bootlegging gangsters of the 1920s and 30s firing a barrage of bullets at the G-men in pursuit — that's the mental picture you might have of the Tommy gun.
Craig Kennedy mail: craig.kennedy@hockeymail.de | web: craig.hockeymail.de | when: Tue, 28 Feb 2017 07:24:04 +0000
What Makes The Peasant Blouse 'Peasant'?
The garment appears across cultures and centuries — but what does it mean?
Philip Gray mail: philip.gray@pulpfrictions.com | web: philip.pulpfrictions.com | when: Tue, 28 Feb 2017 00:16:47 +0000
Scraping By On Six Figures? Tech Workers Feel Poor In Silicon Valley's Wealth Bubble
"I didn't become a software engineer to be trying to make ends meet," said a Twitter employee in his early 40s who earns a base salary of $160,000. It is, he added, a "pretty bad" income for raising a family in the Bay Area.
Jeffery Warren mail: jeffery.warren@klarkzon.eu | web: jeffery.klarkzon.eu | when: Mon, 27 Feb 2017 23:12:52 +0000
Why Pheasant Island Is Sometimes In France, Sometimes In Spain
By the terms of a 1659 treaty, France and Spain alternate sovereignty. Every February, French representatives meet their counterparts on Pheasant Island to hand it over to the Spaniards; every August, they get it back.
Allen Butler mail: allen.butler@innovation-km.com | web: allen.innovation-km.com | when: Mon, 27 Feb 2017 22:20:01 +0000
The Holocaust's Great Escape
“From the moment when they made us bring up the corpses, and we understood that we wouldn’t get out of there alive, we reflected on what we could do,” Motke Zeidel remembered. And so Zeidel and his fellows plotted their escape.
Chris Carter mail: chris.carter@onlyforyounotfor.me | web: chris.onlyforyounotfor.me | when: Mon, 27 Feb 2017 19:59:13 +0000
The Company Behind Vantablack Is Working On A Crazy New Ultra-Black Coating
One of the problems with Vantablack is that it is very difficult to apply and can't be touched (lest the carbon nanotubes that help it do its black magic break), but the new material tougher and can be handled. And the effects it can create are still stunning.
Nynke Van der louw mail: nvdlouw@yahoo.com | web: http://greatestcamps.nl/ | when: Mon, 27 Feb 2017 17:10:24 +0000
I Did Ruth Bader Ginsburg's Workout. It Nearly Broke Me.
Asked earlier this month about the most important person in her life, Ginsburg, who was widowed in 2010 and lost a close friend with the 2016 death of Justice Antonin Scalia, responded, “My personal trainer.”
Fred Kennedy mail: fred.kennedy@horse-d.eu | web: fred.horse-d.eu | when: Mon, 27 Feb 2017 14:19:28 +0000
An Alligator Swoops In And Takes This Kid's Big Catch Right Off The Fishing Line
Honestly, if every fishing trip was a fight between you and an alligator, more kids might be excited to go.
Bruce Butler mail: bruce.butler@dwindlingscrabble.xyz | web: bruce.dwindlingscrabble.xyz | when: Fri, 15 Jan 2016 13:43:20 +0000
Trending Tech News
Stay up to date on the tech world with our tech channel.
Alfred Watson mail: alfred.watson@geheime.club | web: alfred.geheime.club | when: Tue, 19 Jan 2016 21:12:21 +0000
The Best Long Reads From Around The Internet
Find all the best new longform writing on the internet right here.
Vincent White mail: vincent.white@thedarkswans.com | web: vincent.thedarkswans.com | when: Tue, 23 Aug 2016 14:28:38 +0000
Donald Trump News
Get all the latest news about President Trump with our live-updating Trump channel.
more